Crunchy Peanut Cookies

28 Sep

I love this recipe. 

Not only is it my grandma’s (the Godfather of baking)- making me more desperate to not completely ruin it, but I’ve been told by the Don herself that my batch were a perfect replica! Hence my confidence in now posting it here…

Here it is:

  • 120g (40z) softened butter
  • 90g (3oz) caster sugar
  • 90g (3oz) muscovado sugar
  • ½ jar peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  •  ½ tsp vanilla essence
  • 210g (7oz) plain flour

1.) Preset oven at 180°C, Gas mark 4. Lightly grease a tin, or roll out a sheet of greaseproof paper, depending on your preference.

2.) Cream the butter and sugar together. Add the peanut butter, egg, vanilla essence and then the flour.

3.) Beat or mix until the mixture takes on a dough form.

4.) Break into small pieces (depending on whether you want large or small biscuits), roll into balls and place on tin.

5.) Press down on each ball of mixture with the back of a fork to form a criss-cross pattern on each (can be made as flat as you like).

6.) Bake for about 30 mins, or until cooked and lightly browned.

Right, so a few side-notes and confessions:

1.) I used soft light brown sugar for the muscovado sugar part of the ingredients.

2.) Also, I used crunchy peanut butter instead of smooth, because I feel it adds some much needed texture to the cookies, as well as that extra crunch. 

3.) In my grandma’s original recipe she uses actual peanuts instead of peanut butter (don’t ask me how), and knowing that this was way out of my small culinary league of skills, she granted me the peanut butter shortcut. 

Anyway, regardless of a few rule breaks, these cookies were lovely (if I do say so myself!) and crunchy treat. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

